Annual Reports

SERG's fiscal year is September 1st to the following August 31st of each year.  Downloadable copies of SERG annual reports:

2014 Annual Report [pdf]
2013 Annual Report [pdf]
2012 Annual Report [pdf]
2011 Annual Report [pdf]
2010 Annual Report [pdf]
2008-09 Annual Report [pdf]
2007-08 Annual Report [pdf]
2007 Annual Report [pdf]
2006 Annual Report [pdf]
2003-04 Annual Report [pdf]

A Decade of SERG Energy Achievements - 2002 to 2012


SERG is a non-profit organization formed in 2002 to help homeowners and towns reduce energy use and spending, increase their use of renewable energy and reduce their impact on climate change. Here are a few of our important accomplishments from this past year to create a more sustainable region.

– In May, more than 250 people attended the Upper Valley Electric Vehicle Demo and Forum at the Montshire Museum in Norwich, organized by SERG and the Upper Valley Sierra Club. More than 20 electric cars, motor cycles and trucks were on display and available for test rides, followed by a presentation on electric vehicle efficiency, technologies, charging and purchase considerations by Dave Roberts from Drive Electric Vermont. Dave Robert’s power point presentation is available at:   You can see a selection of photos from the Electric Demo & Forum at: and a video of the forum can be seen at:

- In 2012 SERG worked with Lakes Region Community College to develop an accredited class teaching New Hampshire real estate professionals about energy issues in existing homes. In 2014, SERG worked with Efficiency Vermont to edit the class for Vermont real estate professionals, and then coordinated with Vermont Realtors to get the class accredited in Vermont. We will be helping to schedule and teach this class in Vermont and New Hampshire through the end of 2014 and in 2015.

- In 2014, SERG assisted Vital Communities in developing and promoting its Solarize Upper Valley program. From March through June, in the first phase of this program, the towns of Thetford and Strafford, VT and Plainfield, Cornish and Lyme, NH more than doubled the capacity of residential solar in their towns. SERG is currently helping Thetford develop a large community solar array on a closed town landfill.

 – SERG formed the first town energy committees in Vermont and New Hampshire in 2002 and continues to help provide information, programs and networking services to town energy committees throughout the both states. We helped organize the April 30th Upper Valley Energy Committee Roundtable attended by 74 energy advocates representing 25 energy committees, 3 regional planning commissions, 15 for-profit energy businesses and NGO’s and a representative from the office of Senator Bernie Sanders. All of the Roundtable's documents and resources can be found on SERG's website at We also helped organize last December’s annual Vermont statewide town energy committee conference at Lake Morey Inn attended by more than 300 energy organizers. And we distributed regular email information updates to our list of more than 2,400 Vermont and New Hampshire residents.

– SERG received the 2014 Vermont Governor’s Award for Environmental Excellence for our having created Vermont and New Hampshire’s first town energy committees, networking with over 180 town energy committees in Vermont and New Hampshire and developing innovative model pilot projects, such as Thetford HEAT (Home Energy Action Team) to promote home weatherization. We offer our thanks to the many town energy committee and Thetford HEAT volunteers whose work helping homeowners reduce energy use and fight climate change, made this award possible.

Clifton Below, former NH state senator and Public Utilities Commissioner
Jeff Bernstein, President and Managing Director of the law firm BCK Law, P.C.
Alan Berolzheimer, SERG Secretary/Treasurer, historian, editor, chair of the Norwich Energy Committee
Bruce 'Buff' McLaughry, Chief Operating Officer of the Real Estate firm, Lang McLaughry Spera
Dori Wolfe, owner Wolfe Energy consulting, chair Strafford Energy Committee
Bob Walker, SERG Executive Director and Board President